CTX 700 Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
How many others are contemplating upgrading from another motorcycle to one of the new CTX models? I've been riding for quite a few years now, most recently on a 2006 Honda Rebel. Learned to ride on a Honda Shadow 750, so I've been back and forth on whether or not to give the new CTX a try or to get one of the newer Shadow models. I've sat on both the CTX700n and a Shadow Sprit, and while I like both, I'm leaning towards the CTX for a number of reasons, although it is a little different looking compared to what we're all used to. Anyone else planning on going from another MC to the CTX700(n)? What Pros and Cons have you come up with?

·
Registered
892 Posts
Definitely a matter of personal preference on this but here are a few things I would list in the Pros and Cons:
Pro - CTX appears that it will handle better due to its design (shorter rake & wheel base)
Pro - Newer Technology on the CTX (maybe a Con for some people)
Pro - Price is slightly better on CTX vs Base Shadow
Pro - CTX has a six speed vs five speed for Shadow
Pro - Better fuel milage on the CTX by estimated 8 mpg
Pro - CTX has 4 valves per cyl vs 3 on Shadow
Con - CTX is chain vs shaft on Shadow
Con - CTX has a taller seat (not a con for everyone)

Don't get me wrong, I really like Shadows but it is a different monster all together. If your are a VTwin lover then the choice is clear. If not?

·
Premium Member
557 Posts