CTX 700 Forum banner
1 - 20 of 35 Posts

·
Registered
37 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
(and don't say on my head!)

I've been riding a Burgman 400 for the last 5 years. It's the only bike I've ever owned. I've ordered a CTX700 and now I'm faced with some problems I hadn't really considered before. There's a ton of storage space on the Burgy and I've gotten very used to just dropping my full sized helmet in the seat.

So where do I put it now? What are my options for locking my helmet to the bike?

·
Premium Member
557 Posts
If you don't get the hard cases (Expensive) then there is a metal loop on the right rear side that you can use. I have a SH150 and don't put my helmet in it's storage. It has a helmet hook but it is in an inconvient spot so I extened it with a S hook. You might want to invest in a top box and/or the rear rack to bungee or use a small cargo net to hold your helmet. I usually take my helmet in where ever I go as the heat in Texas is intense and even in a storage space I will become a brain oven.

·
Premium Member
557 Posts
I just hook my helmet to the S ring using the D ring on the straps. I have never had anyone try and mess with it. YoOu could do that and put a master lock through both to be moe secure. Most of the guys I see either put them in their bags (Leather Saddlebags) or leave them on the bike.

·
Registered
90 Posts
If you remove the seat, there's a looping hook of metal, on the left side of the under seat area. In the tool bag, there's a piece of steel cable with loops on both ends, and a piece of vinyl, covering the center section of the cable. You stick the cable through the D-ring of your helmet, and back through itself, then around the hook under the seat. With the seat in place, you can't remove the cable from the hook.

Honestly, it's a pain in the butt to deal with, especially after being used to the cavernous belly of a Burgman 400. I'll be getting a Givi top box, myself.

·
Registered
71 Posts