CTX 700 Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
26 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am in the market for a new bike & just learned about the CTX700. I have been riding since 1954 but now I need an automatic transmission as the clutch hurts my hand too much.
I now have a Yamaha Majesty that I have had since 2005 & it only has 81,000 miles but I think it is time for a new bike. (There would have been more miles but I kept my 1995 Yamaha Virago until a little over a year ago.)
My concern is in regard to the ease of routine maintenance due to the issues I had with both of those bikes.
For instance on the Virago I had to lay on the ground & use a flashlight just to see the oil sight glass. To change the air filter I had to remove the seat & then the gas tank to get to the air filter. The oil filter was even worse.
The Majesty has a terrible air filter design & location & the oil input tube is too short. Checking the rear tire pressure is nearly impossible.
Those are the type of issues I would like to learn about BEFORE I buy a new bike.

·
Premium Member
11,745 Posts