CTX 700 Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have been looking into the ctx700n as an affordable commuter motorcycle. I go 35 miles one way to work a day. I really prefer not to go to a bigger bike, I have previously owned a 250 Suzuki for a few years. 90%+ of the time I can see this being a one person adventure but there would be times I would like to take the lady out for a cruise around the area. Im 240. Im an overweight chef. I know this bikes weight limit is around the 350 mark. With a passenger that would clearly put me over the mark. If I cant ride with her at times should I take a pass on this bike or do we think we can handle this? Id prefer not to have to purchase new shocks and tires off the bat either.

·
Registered
14 Posts
I would say I weigh about 200lbs...give or take a few pounds depending on how many cheesesteaks I've consumed lately. I would assume my girlfriend weighs in around 140-150. I have saddlebags with mounts, a top case with mounts, and crash bars all totaling up to a good 30+lbs. Even with both of us on all of our gear, I don't have any problem doing 70-80 with her on the back.

·
Premium Member
212 Posts
Dude,
Buy the bike. My wife and I two-up all the time.
I'm about 275 and she is a tiny as the day we met at about 110.
We cruise at 65-70 with no trouble on the highway and this bike is a nimble as ever.
That is why I love the CTX700. It carries passenger and bags cuz it thinks it's a bigger bike. But it is as nimble and easy to handle like a smaller mid size bike.
I do not have the rear shock pumped all the way up, and we ride on very civilized roads, so it is soft and my wife has no trouble straddling the bike getting on or off.
I know we exceed the suggested weight but that is just a suggestion. We do just fine.
And so will you.
By the way, we still get 60mpg.

Ride, and keep the rubber side down!
Ross and Angela
rolling 4.jpg
thumbnail_IMG-0711.jpg

·
Registered
282 Posts