CTX 700 Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
While I haven't purchased it yet (within the month though) I'm planning to ride a CTX700D. My question though to the forum is about the kind of electrical power the bike is able to produce. If I upgrade heated grips, the power socket, and decide to add some lights to it, will they all work or is it asking too much? At some point heated gear may also add into the equation. I just wanted to make sure I had plenty of juice to play with and I can't seem to find any information stating what the bike is capable of at all.

Thanks for listening to the ramblings of a noob.

·
Registered
84 Posts
I run heated gear on my CTX700D. I've had no issues with the battery.

You have to be careful because you can't bump start a bike with an automatic transmission. If I were planning to add lights and other electrical stuff, I think I'd also add a volt meter.

·
Registered
191 Posts
Im no electrical engineer, but I know this. Lights don't take much currant to run. Heated grips along with heated jacket or gloves will really start to take its toll. If you are running at a high rpm for extended periods of time you may be all right, but short trips at low speeds it may cause an issue.

Just my opinion but I would save the money on the heated grips and get some battery powered gloves. That would help with your electrical draw also.

·
Registered
157 Posts
How does one calculate what they can add on given the alternator capacity is 0.45 kW/5000 rpm.
The headlight is 60/55 W
Licence light is 5W
Front turn signal/position light is 21/5 WX2
Rear turn signal light is 21WX2
Various indicators are LED
Peter

·
Premium Member
795 Posts
How does one calculate what they can add on given the alternator capacity is 0.45 kW/5000 rpm.
The headlight is 60/55 W
Licence light is 5W
Front turn signal/position light is 21/5 WX2
Rear turn signal light is 21WX2
Various indicators are LED
Peter