CTX 700 Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Newbie here,
Owner of a 1996 Honda ST1100 considering a 2014 CTX700 for my next bike.
Questions:
1. Can anyone point me to a summary of Honda CTX models over the years (including sub-models and specs)?
I see people talking about "CTX1300" but Honda only has the 700cc size on their current Website (https://powersports.honda.com/street/touring).
2. I am used to having a center stand on road bikes. HOW can you do drive chain cleaning & lubrication without a center stand?
e.g. It is impossible to rotate the rear wheel with a side stand.
Tim

·
Registered
383 Posts
Welcome. Honda Pro Kevin has lots of info for research. I believe although not officially stated by Honda, the CTX line has been discontinued but they still advertise them to sell existing left over stock. I don’t think you will find a 2019 or 2020 CTX. Possibly all of the 1300’s have been sold and removed from the site. You can install a center stand as an accessory on the CTX. You can prop up the opposite side of the swing arm with a jack as in the video. I used to carry a piece of pvc pipe in my saddle bag of my KLR 650 and wedge it under the swing arm to spin the tire. It’s as light as a feather and costs nothing.
https://www.hondaprokevin.com/?s=ctx

·
Registered
54 Posts
An easy and inexpensive way to lift the rear wheel off the ground is a "packjack". Google it to get some info. I have a CTX700 with a center stand but find it difficult to get it up on the stand with the bike loaded (I'm old!). The packjack is easily used on most any bike and takes virtually no space to store in your saddle bag. Works for me.

·
Registered
488 Posts