CTX 700 Forum banner
1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi All,

I just joined mainly to lurk and to see if this CTX would be a good bike for my wife. I wanted to get her a new bike with ABS for our 32nd wedding anniversary. I have been riding for about 10 years now after a 20 year break. First bike was a 1960 Triumph Bonnie that I had for 1 day after I ended up in a goldfish pond. Then a Suzuki GS750 for a while in the 80's and then picked up the bug with a 1989 Pacific Coast about 10 years ago. The PC is the distinct forerunner of the CTX 700. It was an 800cc v-twin with huge storage and full weather protection. If you don't know the bike it's worth checking out.

I just "sat" my wife on this new CTX with Cycleergo and it said that her feet won't fit on the forward mounted pegs. I see this as an issue but maybe they will offer a mid set of pegs.

I hate the foot forward myself but do ride cruisers as I can flat foot them.

I see that a few variants of this platform offer mid foot controls but they have a 32" seat height.

This bike reminds me of the BMW F800 GT but a lot cheaper.

I would never buy a bike with out a test ride but some dealers will let you order and give a few days to try it out and you can get credit from them for another Honda.

·
Registered
49 Posts
Welcome to the forum!

What a gentle men to consider such a nice gift for your wife. I was thinking about the foot reach issue already in my head since the pedals are in forward position. Well, don't lose hope yet maybe call up a honda dealership and organized a test ride or maybe just to sit on one with your wife.

The bmw F800 looks really similar especially the way the side fairing looks. The pedal position however is different.

·
Premium Member
42 Posts