CTX 700 Forum banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
31 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Ok, this is my first post here. I just got my learner's permit, and am scheduled to take the Safety Training Course on the 24th and 25th. I am 35, married, and have 2 kids, one is in 1st grade, the other is 3 and potty training. I have purchased a Honda PCX 150 as my first bike. I wanted something to commute to work and take the load off of my CRV that has 193k miles. The PCX is supposed to get high 90's on the mpg, and the cost plus ins. plus [email protected] will save me $30/mo from just gas in my 24mpg CRV. But I am new to riding. I cannot ride the PCX to work yet, since I work 2nd shift and cant drive at night. I have a small kid so cant get out much during the week either since the wife works 1st shift. I love the automatic option. I think I can manage the PCX- my whole route is mainly rural @ 55mph. But I think I have a crush on this CTX. It wouldnt be as good on gas as the PCX, but would be more stable in wind and passing traffic. Also, the ABS sounds gloriously safe, and it would be big enough for my wife and I to 2-up with her brother and Dad who ride Harleys. Money is tight right now, so not sure if I could swing the payments and the lesser gas mileage... Any thoughts from the wisdom of the forums? Thanks so much in advance.

·
Registered
975 Posts
My advice is to take the MSF as scheduled and keep riding the PCX for a while to become a more experienced rider and lessen the chance that you'll lay over a brand-new CTX due to your lack of experience. Then, depending on how long you gain experience on the PCX, you may opt for a big jump to the CTX but another option would be to get a used 250-500 bike and keep gaining experience before jumping on to a bigger, new bike.

Please be safe and take this slowly, as it seems as though you are really needed here on this earth and to be healthy by your family.