CTX 700 Forum banner
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
111 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Greetings and salutations!

I am a retired college professor. As part of retirement, I'm doing some things I've always wanted to do, but never had time for. As part of that goal, I got my first "motorcycle" this past spring... actually it is a scooter... a Honda Ruckus. I bought it as a pit bike to use at the race track (I have a 2010 Camaro used for drag racing... another thing I've always wanted to do was drag race a Camaro, but I digress...).

I put plates on my Ruck and got a permit to cruise around on the country roads around my house. I have spent some time riding and tinkering with the Ruck and realized that I really like the 2-wheeled experience. I never before realized how wonderful it was to feel the breeze, smell the smells, zoom around corners, and feel the world around me as I rode. I never experienced that in a car.

I modded the Ruck and upgraded it a bit. Here is what it looks like now...

I am having a ball with it.

I decided a couple of weeks ago that it was time to upgrade my motorcycle permit to a license. I thought it would be really good for me to learn to ride better and be a safe rider. So, I took the Basic Rider's Course at the Iron Pony Riding Academy in Columbus, Ohio. It was a 3-day, 16-hour course with 4 hours of classroom work and two days (6 hours each) of riding. It concluded with the state skills test. I learned a LOT about riding safely. I also know I have a lot more to learn. But, it really whetted my appetite to get a real motorcycle.