CTX 700 Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi CTX700Forum :p
I've never owned a motorcycle before but I'm going for my license soon and I'm thinking the Honda CTX700 would be a perfect bike for a beginner like me! I've never used manual transmission before, so the DCT is what sort of lured me in. I also find the bike very comfortable and easy to get on and off and I really like the scooter-ish look with the fairing, it's so cute! Is this anyone else's first bike?And are there any other models I should be looking at instead?
Thanks in advance!
xo Jessica

·
Registered
40 Posts
My CTX is my first motorcycle but I've been riding a KLX125 dirt bike for a couple years. In my opinion for a new and beginner friendly motorcycle the CTX is the best option and is very value priced.

·
Registered
8 Posts
Quick Jessica! Hide before Billnoroville comes ;)

Joking aside, I did learn a couple pointers from a thread I started where I asked the same thing. Best advice I got was to not buy a new bike as a first bike (thanks Pete!) as you're probably going to get a few bumps and scratches on it while you're learning.

·
Registered
898 Posts
I totally agree with Jax! An old saying goes, "It's not if your going down, it's when". God forbid you ever have to experience that, but as a new rider, **it happens. I would recommend a smaller, older bike to become comfortable and then move up. I like the Buell Blast (500cc) and Kawasaki Vulcan EN500. Both can be found out there for very little money, have low seat height and are fairly reliable and easy to work on.
Take your time and you will do fine.

·
Premium Member
795 Posts
Hi CTX700Forum :p