CTX 700 Forum banner
1 - 20 of 37 Posts

·
Premium Member
795 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I like saddle bags but not tail bags as they are always in the way when getting off or on my bike the way I throw my leg over the back of the bike I guess.

I got a pair of Tourmaster cortech saddle bags off ebay for 70.00 with shipping. They have Velcro straps for under the seat and quick release latches for securing the front and back. Brand new and red (but wrong red so my bad). These are an older shape as the new ones are more square.

So, looking at how they sit along each side, my big worry was when I fill them they will want to lean in towards the wheel and might get hit by the suspension or wheel. So I wanted to prevent that. I bought a 48inch peace of angle aluminum 1/2 by 3/4 and figured I could use one screw and nut at each end. One end goes bolts to the front tie down and the other on top of the license frame lip. Being angle shaped it is very strong and should not allow the bag to swing inward. Since the whole setup is 4 bolts they will be quick on or off if I choose.

pictures attached.

Vehicle Car Auto part Tire Automotive exterior

this pic shows how bracket was attached at the rear. I should have used flat black instead of semi-gloss. Future work. lol
Vehicle Baggage Car Bag Luggage and bags

·
Premium Member
1,030 Posts
Excellent idea, would it be possible to see another mounting photo or two of the hardware and possibly a couple of the bags with the entire bike in the photo? Nice!

·
Premium Member
795 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·