CTX 700 Forum banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
29 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Since the 2013 Honda CTX700ND will be equipped with ABS will it be any safer or is it not necessary? How different is ABS on motorcycles than cars. I never had the luxury to ride a bike with an ABS system. Just wonder how effective it would be on a bike like the CTX700 or just in general. Is it the same feel and function as it is in a car?

·
Registered
32 Posts
In the past i have looked in to different motorcycles that offer ABS. I'm not sure if I can justify spending the extra money for it. From my understanding is that the ABS system is runs differently then on cars which have a ecu to compensate for all for wheel and work in sync with speed sensors. I have been riding for over ten years and have been more than confident even in bad road conditions. Just exactly how much more is the ABS on the CTX700?

·
Premium Member
42 Posts
The ABS system now on bikes is much similar to cars than you think. The Honda ABS system now actually does use wheel sensors to detect traction on the better wheel and send most of it braking to the wheel with most traction. And all this works with an individual electric pump so you don't feel the feedback in the brake lever itself. Some would argue that the ABS system is purely mechanical but ironically this is not true at all.

·
Registered
29 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Wow it is a lot more complex than I thought it was. I thought the same where it was more mechanical but I was wrong. Honda is really good to use by adding in these new technologies. I think it just might be woth the extra $1000 bucks but I don't want the dual clutch auto tranny. And the only one that has ABS is the CTX700N and it's bundled with DCT and ABS. So it is safer with the ABS system though?

·
Registered
49 Posts