CTX 700 Forum banner
1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
First off, this is my first post, so hello! I am new to motorcycling and a friend suggested the CTX700 as a new, easy to ride bike for beginners. I decided to come here to see how the enthusiasts really felt about their CTX700 being referred to as a "beginner's bike".
I was enticed by the CTX700's dual clutch transmission, but I feel as though that is what separates it from the "real" bikes. As I work in the city, I thought it would be convenient considering my start/stop riding. However as we all know, manual transmission will always provide the greatest amount of control and I need to know what that means as a car driver transitioning to a motorcyclist. While I have no experience shifting gears on a bike, I have always driven standard vehicles. So, am I losing the thrill of riding a motorcycle by opting out for a dual clutch transmission? And is it fair to call the Honda CTX700 a beginner's bike?

·
Registered
126 Posts
So, am I losing the thrill of riding a motorcycle by opting out for a dual clutch transmission?
This is a very personal question, I think. The only way to answer this is to ride both (manual and DCT) and decide for yourself.

I hate automatics in cars, and hence would not even fathom getting an automatic trans on a bike, but I don't commute in bumper-to-bumper traffic either. If I did, maybe my stance on the issue would differ. :) Then again, commuting in bumper-to-bumper traffic on a hot summer day when you're all geared up is no fun, regardless of trans. You'll be all stinky and sweaty by the time you get to your destination.

And is it fair to call the Honda CTX700 a beginner's bike?
Does it really matter what others call it? If you like the bike otherwise, who cares?

Beginner's bike is a rather vague term, IMO. If you're upgrading from a smaller bike or scooter, it's not a beginner's bike to you. :)

·
Registered
7 Posts
Hey Jax! I'm new too :)