CTX 700 Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
36 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi forum,
I'm Mike, from San Ramon, California, another happy new CTX 700 rider. This is my first bike, bought it last week, 34 miles on odometer so far :)
I'm very new to motorcycle and have a question to forum.
Does everybody perform maintenance by yourselves or go to dealership.
For example, I bought my bike for commute and I expect to have 4k of miles annually. But according to owner's manual there are several items should be serviced every 600 miles. I thought that's expensive to visit dealership every two months.
I suspect that most part of 600 miles maintenance can be done without dealership. Can anyone recommend a courses for basic maintenance or something like this? How do you learn your maintenance basics for CTX?
Thanks all and hello again :)

·
Registered
975 Posts
Hi Mike.

Basically, you've got an initial oil and filter change, which is due at no more than the first 600 miles, but then the oil and filter interval goes to every 8,000 miles. This is very standard for both motorcycles and scooters, because there is a break-in oil and break-in period; it's no big deal. Just get the initial oil/filter So you'll change the oil and filter @ 600; then @ 8,000; then @ 16,000; and so on. The oil/filter change is very basic, easier than most cars, and based on what you have expressed; it'll come about every two years or so, and at the same time (8,000 miles), you'll need to get the valve clearances checked. There is already a thread on here about the oil change. Look in the How-To section. The biggest trouble everyone is having is that Honda really torqued down the oil filter, so, if you do it yourself, have a really good filter wrench handy to get it off.