CTX 700 Forum banner
1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm a new member but not a new rider. I've been riding since 1977 and currently have a 1998 BMW R1200C (the Ivory one). I love that bike but I just talked to the dealer for the 2014 CTX 700 DCT. I will probably pick it up next week. I test rode it today. The first thing I noticed right off the bat was where the foot pegs were. They really are way up there. I hope I can get used to that.
The reason I'm downsizing and getting the 700 is because I had a total elbow procedure a few years ago and can see I will have clutch problems in the near future.
Believe it or not I have always done my own add-ons, and maintenance on the boxer engine. It's so easy! Do any of you guys know where I can get a Clymer manual for this model? Thanks, Jan

·
Registered
842 Posts
Welcome, indeed! Once you ride it, you will wonder why everyone doesn't put the pegs there...so relaxed. Well, at least this 68 y-o thinks so...

Ride Often, Ride Safe,
f

·
Registered
309 Posts
Welcome!

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·

·
Banned
463 Posts
Beemer Princess,
I have the Kuryakyn mini boards and they work great.
As mentioned in the threads on the forum you need the splined adapters also. You must cut a small part of the stock spring to make them fit. DSC02278 (Copy).JPG

DSC02279 (Copy).JPG

·
Banned
463 Posts
Mike, I originally installed these using the middle slot but like you changed to the front slot. My wife prefers that position.
It seemed like the center position didn't give enough room for shifting.....for us shifty types.
Also changed from flat position to slightly inclined.
Work great.

·
Registered
29 Posts
Hello from Acworth, GA. Just got my CTX today. Got the naked version in black and my bike has VIN 000003. I have had many different bikes but currently have a 2008 Silverwing scooter as well as me new CTX.

·
Premium Member
795 Posts