CTX 700 Forum banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
41 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've read several posts here answering calls for advice on this and that. One was along the lines of "I'm new to this, should I get the auto or manual?"

First and foremost, this activity is as much about individuality and freedom as anything - there is no one right way.

Secondly, if you choose to shift a 6-speed dual clutch manual transmission with paddle shifters (as all Ferraris do now), you are no lesser a man. If you enjoy messing with a shift lever, a clutch lever, rev matching, traffic, and keeping yourself alive all at the same time, go for it. With 500k miles on my odometer, I choose not to and see no advantage for a beginner to learn an obsolete technology. There has never been a moment on my CTX700 DCT when I thought "gee, I could really use a fully manual tranny about now."

If that's not enough to clear the chest thumping about what is manhood, need I point out we are all piloting a powerfully awesome compromise of a bike any standard issue woman could handle with ease?

·
Registered
15 Posts
Did I miss something? Who's chest pumping?

We choose this bike for my wife who was having problems learning manual shifting (even though she does just fine in a MT Auto) and I feel much better now that she can concentrate on the road and other important things.

That being said she will have less to choose from in the future if she ever wants to step up because of her lack of fully learning MT's.

I just choose to ride MT's because I enjoy it and it is 2nd nature to me anyway.
I still get a kick out of riding her CTX though and can see the appeal for some folks so no chest pumping here...:D

·
Registered
97 Posts